An Exploration of Guilt

Sometimes, I look around myself and feel as if I would be better off if I could get rid of a little bit of guilt here and there. Take for instance my desk at home:

I have a newsletter from my HOA with a notice about National Night Out last Tuesday. No guilt there because I actually attended this event that I complained about not having last year, but there is definitely some future guilt there since I’m nearly 100 percent sure that newsletter will still be sitting there this time next month.

There is a paper ice-cream cone that Sylvie made with her foot on May 24 laying on top of Thayne’s 2 1/2-year appointment information sheet dated June 1. Note that it is currently August 4.

There is a place setting with a Thanksgiving turkey.

There is a Minecraft gun. I’m not sure why that is there, but I certainly have some guilt attached to it because my son is 2 1/2; what would the other mothers say??

There are three cds with family pictures we had taken on July 4 that I have yet to distribute to family. They likely will not receive them prior to all computers removing the capability to read them.

There is my Garmin running watch. Which I have not used since, like, two days after my most recent post about running in approximately May. Shall I blame the dogs?

And there is a half-empty glass of wine.

I can assure you that the only thing on my desk that is not tied to current, future, or past guilt is said glass of wine. I shall finish it. I shall place the glass on my kitchen counter. And I shall regret nothing.

On that note, about a month ago, my 2 1/2 year old son (as of May 30) began using a peculiar word. It took me a few moments to really register that he was using the word I thought he was. And I wasn’t sure, at first, who to blame.

“Shall I go to school today?”

“Shall Dada make us breakfast?”

“Shall I feed the puppies?”

My proper gentleman. And to think I was beginning to believe he never listens to me. As it turns out, he really is ALWAYS LISTENING … I wonder what I’ll discover I need to be guilty about when he starts talking tomorrow.

Probably the wine.

Leave a comment